Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-23 - 1:01 p.m.

I am at work. On my lunch break. I'm not hungry.

I wanted to write a review of the most awesome movie in the world. It's called "Electric Dreams" and it is the story of a man, his computer and their duel for the beautiful upstairs neighbor (who is a cellist).

This is what the plot summary is from imdb.com:

"This upbeat love story features an architect named Miles who decides to modernize his life by buying a computer. Not knowing a thing about them he purchases the biggest most power system he can get ahold of, and wastes no time in having all sorts of accidents - dropping it, spilling wine on it, cross wiring it. All of which ends up causing something amazing to happen, the computer gains self-awareness! Using it's word processor, speakers and microphone the computer learns to communicate with Miles and they become friends as he teaches it about life. Then a pretty chello player moves in next door and the shy Miles and super-intelligent but inexperienced computer conspire to get her to love Miles in the best tradition of Cyrano. After the computer and the woman start to share music together through the heating ducts the computer falls for the woman too. Soon man and machine are battling for who has the right to date her. "

I loved this movie. It's not your classic, epic 'man versus machine.' I didn't know WHO to cheer for. I thought Edgar (that's the computer)'s voice sounded a lot like Spencer's, and I thought that Miles was a bit of a jerk. Music factored heavily into this film--and the music was awesome! Some of the graphics were pretty out-of-control as well. This movie really makes you think about artificial intelligence as well as how much technology runs our life...you know, the provocative question of "are we using technology or is it using us?" You might think this movie is just for laughs, but it's really a fun, touching movie. I loved it and would watch it with anyone who wanted to see it.

Future movies to be reviewed: "The Naked Bomb" and "That Man Is Pregnant!"

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!