Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-05-22 - 1:28 p.m.

No one would believe it if they could somehow experience what I am experiencing right now. I don't believe it. It seems like an utterly charming dream. Even the parts that are maddening and hard. This trip is totally indescribable and magical and awkward and funny.
Last night: sitting in a high rise in Taiwan, watching Harry Potter with a Buddhist monk who has only spoken maybe five words in English to me (because she knows about as much English as I know Chinese), including "Harry Potter" and "Dobby." She and I kept repeating them back to each other and laughing.
Today: being pushed down into the kneeling position (by another monk) in front of Buddha ("not to pray, but to say hello to Buddha") at the temple three hours outside of Taipei where I will be staying these next few days.

Taiwan is gorgeous. The jungle landscape/mountains and the lights of the expansive metropolis of Taipei. Everyone, let's relocate to Taiwan!

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!