Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-06-29 - 10:13 a.m.

Conversation that happened about fifteen minutes ago between me and the man I work with:
R: "The supreme court...I don't know what they are doing back there."
H: [silent attention]
R: "They just ruled against the president. They say that he can't hold people at Guantanamo [sp?!?] Bay without charging them with a crime."
H: [nod]
R: "They say that the enemy combatant has to actually be charged with something before they can hold him.
H: [silence]
R: "This guy...he's not even being held in the United States. Apparently, what five people in the Supreme Court don't know is that we are at war."
H: [silence]
R: "What they should do is let that guy go so they can shoot him." [leaves room]
R [calling from the other room]: "I know that's a harsh stance to take...but what are you going to do."
---------------------------------------
A few of the things I would have liked to say:
1. Maybe the Supreme Court would "know" we were at war had the President actually declared war in the method outlined by the Constitution.
2. Even if someone is held outside of the United States, if they are being held by the United States, I would say it falls under the jurisdiction of the United States.
3. What if the guy was, actually, innocent? How can we be so confident in our ability to determine people's guilt *without* any court proceedings when we have such a poor track record even within our justice system?
4. How can you so casually suggest the unthinkable act of dispensing of someone's life--especially when that person has not been charged, tried, or found guilty of any crime?
5. Thank heavens that the Supreme Court ruled in a way that somewhat limits the extensions of power that the President has granted himself. It's about time. 6. What exactly do you think justice is? What exactly do you think qualifies someone for human rights if it's not enough to simply be human?

What I actually said: Not one word.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!