Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-11-15 - 11:29 a.m.

There's something about the story of what happened between Bob Dylan and Joan Baez that really gets me. When I watched the documentary, the parts that struck me the most, emotionally, were the interviews with Joan where she talked about Bob and Bob where he talked about Joan. There still seemed to be something lingering between them...a sense of loss and regret and a sort of tenderness. It was so poignant to me, even though I didn't know much more about the story other than they were romantically involved for a couple years and then they weren't.
And yesterday I heard "Diamonds and Rust" for the first time. It's a song Joan Baez wrote about ten years after her and Bob were no longer involved. And, again it captured something so poignant.
I mean, I don't these people. And it seems silly to be so captivated/affected by the impressions I have of a relationship carried out briefly fifty years ago, when two great musicians were just kids. But, seriously, it makes me want to weep. And I think if you watched the documentary, listened to this song, you too would get a sense of loving and losing in a deep way...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!